Animal Collective – FloriDada (Official Music Video)

 

Animal Collective
Animal Collective (Photo by Hisham Akira Bharoocha & Abby Portner)

(If you like: The Flaming Lips, Avery Tare, The Dirty Projectors)

Back in December, experimental art-rock trio Animal Collective gave fans a first look into their upcoming eleventh full-length Painting With by releasing the ridiculously catchy and vibrant lead single “FloriDada”.

And if the sounds of the psychedelic-Beach Boys track wasn’t enough, Panda Bear, Avery Tare, and Geologist have released the brain melting, colourful visual accompaniment. CGI humans, odd yoga poses, and a giant baby fetus are just the beginning, as kaleidoscopic and flashing stimuli transfix the listener.

(WARNING: Viewer discretion is advised; may trigger seizures for those with photosensitive epilepsy)

You can catch Animal Collective on tour (dates below), and pre-order Painting With. It will be available in CD, LP, or a deluxe LP + 7″ zoetropic turntable slip mat formats. The CD and LP formats will be available in three different covers, one with a different band member, as painted by Brian DeGraw. The deluxe LP will include a choice of one of the three covers, plus a 7″ with two exclusive non-album tracks (mailed at a later date), and a slipmat that animates with the use of a strobe light. Plus, you can get “FloriDada” instantly with a pre-order.

Tour dates:

Fri Feb 19 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer || SOLD OUT *
Sat Feb 20 || Portsmouth, NH || 3S Artspace || SOLD OUT *
Mon Feb 22 || Boston, MA || Royale Boston || SOLD OUT *
Tues Feb 23 || New York, NY || Irving Plaza || SOLD OUT *
Wed Feb 24 || New York, NY || Irving Plaza || SOLD OUT *
Fri Feb 26 || Columbus, OH || Newport Music Hall || SOLD OUT *
Sat Feb 27 || Chicago, IL || Concord Music Hall || SOLD OUT *
Sun Feb 28 || Minneapolis, MN || First Avenue || 
TIX *
Tues Mar 1 || Denver, CO || Ogden Theatre || 
TIX *
Wed Mar 2 || Salt Lake City, UT || The Depot || 
TIX *
Fri Mar 4 || Seattle, WA || Neptune || SOLD OUT *
Sat Mar 5 || Portland, OR || Roseland Theater || 
TIX *
Mon Mar 7 || Oakland, CA || Fox Theater || 
TIX *
Tues Mar 8 || Los Angeles, CA || The Fonda Theatre || SOLD OUT *
Wed Mar 9 || Los Angeles, CA || The Fonda Theatre || SOLD OUT *
Fri Mar 11-Sun Mar 13 || Phoenix, AZ || McDowell Mt. Music Festival || 
TIX
Fri Apr 1 || Brussels, Belgium || Botanique – Orangerie || 
TIX ^
Sat Apr 2 || The Hague, Holland || Rewire Festival @ Paard van Troje || 
TIX
Mon Apr 4 || Hamburg, Germany || Uebel & Gefahrlich || 
TIX ^
Tues Apr 5 | Berlin, Germany || Postbahnhof || 
TIX ^
Thurs Apr 7 || Milan, Italy || C2C Festival @ Magazzini Generali || 
TIX ^
Fri Apr 8 || Stans, Switzerland || Stanser Musiktage Festival @ Kollegi || 
TIX
Sat Apr 9 || Paris, France || La Cigale || 
TIX ^
Mon Apr 11 || London, UK || 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire || SOLD OUT ^
Tues Apr 12 || London, UK || 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire 
TIX ^
Wed Apr 13 || Manchester, UK || 02 Ritz || 
TIX ^
Thurs Apr 28 || Fayetteville, AR || George’s Majestic Lounge || SOLD OUT +
Fri Apr 29-Sun May 1 || Austin, TX || Levitation || 
TIX
Sun May 1 || Tulsa, OK || Cains Ballroom || 
TIX +
Tues May 3 || St. Louis, MO || The Pageant || 
TIX +
Wed May 4 || Royal Oak, MI || Royal Oak Music Theatre || 
TIX +
Fri May 6 || Nashville, TN || Marathon Music Works || 
TIX +
Sat May 7 || Atlanta, GA || Buckhead Theatre || 
TIX +
Sun May 8 || Asheville, NC || Orange Peel || 
TIX +
Tues May 10 || Washington, DC || 9:30 Club || 
TIX +
Fri May 13 || Wilmington, DE || World Café Live at the Queen || 
TIX +
Sat May 14 || Sayreville, NJ || Starland Ballroom || 
TIX +

* with Ratking
^ with GFOTY
+ with Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith

Related posts

Leave a Comment